5/20 Week’s Running

But first, two very important links:

1. I wish I went to Harvard

My roommate showed this to me at the end of school. Daisy, if you are reading this I hope you are blushing!!!! It only had around 300,000 views at that point. I am so proud of her for being ahead of the trend like this. Usually I don’t like Youtube videos. But this one I cannot get enough of.

2. http://www.purposefairy.com/3308/15-things-you-should-give-up-in-order-to-be-happy/

Sunday: OFF (bike ~45 minutes)

Monday: 4M easy (with Kirbs)

Tuesday: 9M long

Wednesday: 4M easy

Thursday: 4M random speedwork

Friday: 6M

Saturday: 4M speedwork (2×2 minute pickups, 2×1 minute pickups)

Total: 31M

My goal for this summer, even though I’m not training for anything big, is just to maintain 30-35 miles per week. I’ve done a fine job so far – I finished up with 32.5 last week, 31 this week. It’s amazing how I’ve adapted in the past year. This mileage is easy for me – this time last year, I would undoubtedly have been sore/fatigued/burned out/dead. Ultimately, I’d love to find a marathon for some time in the next 12 to 18 months. I wanted to do Chicago this October, but decided against it because I’m going to Barcelona for 6 weeks later this summer (more on this later), and after doing 3 half marathons in the past 9 months (I know this isn’t a lot for a lot of other people in the blog world, but I’m relatively new to all this!) I’m kind of enjoying running for fun.

Running for fun! I can’t believe I just said that. Even more so, I can’t believe that it’s true.

My run today, though it wasn’t as fab as yesterday, still went fairly well. I literally ran through cornfields.

I have mixed feelings about this scenery. On one hand, they’re all zen and calm, but there’s only so many rows of corn the eye can take. Also, since I’m running on a highway, I’m always kind of paranoid I’m going to get taken out by a semi. At least it makes me run fast? I threw in some unplanned for pickups just because my legs felt like it, and finished 4.25 miles with an average pace of 7:34.

Me and my cousin. We are both only children and have endured our family’s lunacies together for many years now; even though there’s a big age gap (she’s 7 years older than me) she’s still the closest thing I have to a sister

I didn’t do much with the rest of my day. I drove into town with my cousin and her boyfriend, we went to Simple Café for lunch and then saw The Dictator. I hated this movie. It’s really not my kind of humor and I went into it with a bad attitude. Oh well. It was better than being trapped in my house with my grandma. She had a stroke last year, and every 4 minutes or so her memory literally resets itself. I kid you not. It’s not real life, I know. She pretty much determines someone’s worth based upon their relationship status, so in her little cycle of conversation she always asks if I am married/engaged/dating somebody (I am single) so every time I say no. It’s really very fun, Super fun.

Tomorrow we have this big family reunion/get together thing for my grandma so that she can see all her friends. I’m pretending to be dreading it but in actuality I’m rather excited. It’s one of those things that is bound to be a train wreck – so painful that it’s ridiculously funny. Don’t get me wrong, I love my family, but everybody is kind of a nut and there’s bound to be a few absurd moments. Joy.

Leave a Reply

