My self-proclaimed oatmeal challenge

Generally, I like sticking to my whipped banana oats:

Image

Sometimes I add in eggs for protein, sometimes protein powder, sometimes greek yogurt. I love this breakfast. Bananas may just be my absolute favorite food, relating to the post below.

It was easy to whip together in my common room kitchen at school. Sometimes I went super wild and stirred canned pumpkin in instead, or splurged and bought some berries. But I never really strayed far from the basics, because I was in a dorm room, and grating up vegetables and shiz was out of the question.

But now I’m home! So, I set a mini-goal for myself this week to make 3 new oats recipes. After the first two, I was rather dissapointed:

Zucchini bread oatmeal (adapted from OhSheGlows)

Image

Too bland.

Whipped cottage cheese oats (again, Kath!)

1/3 cup oats
1/3 cup water
1/3 cup almond milk
1 tbs chia seeds
1/2 banana whipped in
almost a cup of blueberries/chopped strawberries
spoonful of sunflower butter

Too soupy.

They were both delicious but stood no chance against my love for whipped banana.  And THEN. This morning happened.

Omg:

Adapted from OhSheGlows:
OATS:
1/3 cup oats
1 finely shredded carrot
1 tbs chia seeds
½ cup water
½ cup almond milk
Lots of cinnamon, some cloves, nutmeg, and ginger (precise I know)
1 egg white whisked in at end
TOPPING:
Handful of walnuts
Maple syrup
½ cup plain Fage mixed with maple syrup and cinnamon

It was cake. Carrot cake. Dare I say it’s tied with banana oats for number one? Yes, yes I do. I shall continue this oatmeal challenge my little darlings and keep you updated.

One thought on “My self-proclaimed oatmeal challenge

  1. Pingback: Friday favorites! | janejogs

Leave a Reply

